boo y’all

October 31, 2011 § Leave a comment

Turning 3-0 this year I got me a little sumthin’ sumthin’ extra for my birthday than I had bargained for…a shiny new set of bat wings.

Yes. You heard me right. My family also calls them “pouchys.” You know, that flab of skin attached to your triceps that follows 2 steps behind you every where you go.

These flabs of skin can actually serve a few purposes besides just being “skinny fat.” They can be used as a place to write long “notes-to-self” or “cheat-cheats,”  a built-in weapon to slap someone silly with, and as I’m using them–as part of an authentic batsuit costume for Hallows’ Eve to scare the neighbourhood kids with. Boo!

A tidbit from an article in the October 2011 issue of Adoptive Families magazine gave me some incentive to say bye to my bat wings and replace them with some muscular toned triceps. Because us adoptive moms likely won’t be getting a 7-pound newborn baby right off the bat, but possibly a 20 or 30 pounder, it would help us out tremendously to lift weights in preparation for toting around our lil’ pup (baby bat.)

” ‘Our son was almost 18 pounds when we adopted him, at nine months. I was glad I’d been lifting weights before our trip.’ Even so, the new mom found herself with lower back pain…” (Adoptive Families Magazine)

So I am going to go fetch my 5-pound weights from the basement and start working on putting these bat wings in the grave with this simple arm workout.

Robin: “That’s an impossible shot, Batman.” 
Batman: “That’s a negative attitude, Robin.”
 
and one more….
 
Batman: “Remember the Boy Scouts’ motto.” 
Robin: “‘Be prepared’.” 
Batman: “It would do well to keep that in mind at all times.”
 

To the batcave!

~Liz

 
Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading boo y’all at Hooz Hooz.

meta

