A Prayer a Day

June 25, 2013 § 5 Comments

“I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.”

– Abraham Lincoln

The most intimate, loving and selfless thing we can do for someone else is to keep them before God in our prayers.

www.madabella.typepad.com

Free printable scripture cards from http://madabella.typepad.com/

Paper pushing is important, and adoption related research is paramount—but praying for our little ones is the most meaningful way we can send them our love from across the Atlantic.

“The greatest gift we can give to others is our prayers.” – Unknown

I’ve got a collection of scripture-turned-prayers that have been percolating in my journal from over the last couple years. Today I turned them into a list of 31 prayers for our daughter: One for each day of the month. (Some of these were derived from Bob Hostetler’s 31 Biblical Virtues to Pray for Your Children.) This list Daily Prayers for Your Children is posted on our fridge so we can focus on one each day. These can be used for anyone, not just your children, just fill that special person’s name in the blanks.

Screen shot 2013-06-25 at 5.34.47 PM

Quotes on prayer:

“We tend to use prayer as a last resort, but God wants it to be our first line of defense. We pray when there’s nothing else we can do, but God wants us to pray before we do anything at all.

Most of us would prefer, however, to spend our time doing something that will get immediate results. We don’t want to wait for God to resolve matters in His good time because His idea of ‘good time’ is seldom in sync with ours.” – Oswald Chambers

“Prayer is not an old woman’s idle amusement. Properly understood and applied, it is the most potent instrument of action.” – Mahatma Ghandi

“Do not pray for an easy life, pray for the strength to endure a difficult one.” – Bruce Lee

“The more you pray, the less you’ll panic. The more you worship, the less you worry. You’ll feel more patient and less pressured.” – Rick Warren

Praying like it is my J.O.B.!

xo ~ Liz

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to A Prayer a Day

  • Lisa S says:

    Thanks for sharing your list of prayers, Lizzy. They will be going to work on my babies and yours too. xo

  • Sally White says:

    Dear Liz, I saw your list on the Proverbs 31 devotion today and LOVE your list of prayers. I have forwarded this to both of my daughters. My older daughter, Molly, has a ministry/business that is all about prayer (she makes beautiful prayer cards and journals to encourage people to pray). She makes prayer cards to help those adopting pray, not only for the adopted child, but for the biological mother. My younger daughter, Emmy, is all about adoption! She has a biological son, Beau, who is 10, but she had secondary infertility and lost her tubes, so she and her husband, Nathan, adopted the most beautiful little girl, Penelope. Penelope is black and her mom was from Arkansas (we praise God for this brave mother who carried this child, then gave her to Emmy and Nathan). Emmy has a ministry called Choose Joy, which is about infertility and adoption. Both of my girls have your heart for God’s call to adopt orphans, so I forwarded your blog address to both of them. I’m sure they will join me in praying for your little Z! I’m going to follow you so I can see when she arrives! Blessings on you and Jamie!!!

  • Sally White says:

    Hi again, Liz! Just wanted to give you links to both of my girls. Molly’s prayer card/journal ministry is at throneofgrace.com, and Emmy’s site is muchadoaboutyou.com. I think you would love them!

    • lzook says:

      Thank you so much Sally. I look forward to catching up on your girl’s blogs and getting to know you all! And I will definitely be checking out Molly’s adoption prayer cards and Emmy’s Choose Joy ministry. So glad you stopped by and introduced yourself. Faith (+adoption) have a way of connecting us don’t they…
      Sincerely,
      Liz

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Prayer a Day at Hooz Hooz.

meta

